Dynamic range of one’s camera sensor

An OCA student asked what the relevance of knowing the dynamic range of his camera was …

Some years ago, on buying one of my first digital cameras, I had conducted this experiment using a copy stand and was surprised to find that the digital range was as much as 12 stops; I could not quite believe this and while working in digital, the calculation has not meant a great deal.

The question is surely how best to get this amount of information which far surpasses that of film, out there and into a print. This requires special processing in Photoshop using commands such as Calculations and other Channel orientated methods.

I thought this part of the course might be about this approach since it is essential in making a good print. However, this course does not consider Photoshop at all and I have needed to do my own researches. I find Guy Gowan very helpful.

 

About Amano - Photographic Studies

a student and practitioner of photography; meditator and neo-sannyasin; author and working photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment